Dr. Dan (Danny) Leksell, Founder and Past Chairman

Dr. Danny Leksell, son of the late Professor Lars Leksell, founded the Leksell Gamma Knife Society in 1989, as a forum for Gamma Knife practitioners to share experiences and to openly discuss new research areas to be explored. This led to a unique collaboration between the ever-growing number of Gamma Knife users from all over the world and to the Society’s undisputed leadership in the field of intracranial radiosurgery. Danny was the Chairman of the Leksell Gamma Knife Society during 30 years, until his retirement in 2019.

Alongside working  with his father in the development of the Leksell Stereotactic System and the Gamma Knife, Danny pursued his own medical career as an otolaryngologist. He received his medical degree from the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden in 1974 and remained clinically active at the Karolinska until 1989.

Danny’s early foresight and vision of encouraging the global Gamma Knife community to build the published peer reviewed science which today totally dominates the radiosurgery literature, has been recognized in many ways over the years. In 2020 the International Radiosurgery Research Foundation (IRRF) established the Dan Leksell Lecture in recognition of his great contributions to the field of radiosurgery. The inaugural lecture was given by Dr. Dade Lunsford, a close friend of Danny’s since 1980.


Lena Höglund, Chairman

Following Dr. Dan Leksell’s retirement in September of 2019, Mrs. Lena Höglund was appointed as his successor as chairman of the Leksell Gamma Knife Society.

Lena has over 30 years of experience of stereotaxy and radiosurgery. Prior to this appointment she has held various leading positions at Elekta. Her experiences include educational courses, seminars, workshops, etc., always in close collaboration with Gamma Knife users world-wide. She has a very strong commitment towards the field of radiosurgery and towards protecting the heritage of Lars Leksell and the work done by Dan Leksell after his father’s passing in 1986.

The appointment of Lena Höglund as chairman is a well-deserved peak of a long and successful career.